History of The Stafford London
Celebrating its centenary in 2012, The Stafford is rich in historic intrigue – from the 17th Century to the present day.
Take a journey through The Stafford London’s long and fascinating history…
17th – 19th Century
Numbers 16-18 St. James’s Place were originally built as private residences in the 17th Century. Number 17, most famously owned by Lord and Lady Lyttelton, daughter of the then Earl Spencer, was pressed into service as nanny to Queen Victoria’s children.
In the years that followed, the house changed hands many times, becoming the Richmond Club Chambers, Green’s Private Hotel and St. James’s Palace Hotel. The Stafford Club, originally housed in number 18, was added in 1886, and in 1912, the hotel was extended to include number 16; The Stafford Hotel was born.
During World War II, The Stafford London served as a club for American and Canadian officers stationed overseas who sought refuge in the Wine Cellars. This led to the formation of the Better ‘Ole Club whose membership comprises guests recognized for services to The Stafford London, like HRH the Prince of Wales.
During World War II, the Wine Cellars were used as air raid shelters. A glimpse into this period of history can still be seen at the far end of the Wine Cellars, where an authentic collection of items from the war is housed in a little museum.
Originally built as stables to house the thoroughbreds of the nobility, The Carriage House was transformed to luxury accommodation in the late 1990s.
Save up to 25%
Enjoy 20% off our Best Available Rates when staying for two nights or longer and 25% for three nights or longer.DISCOVER MORE
Stay 4, Pay 3
Extend your stay in the Capital with The Stafford London’s Stay 4, Pay 3 offer.DISCOVER MORE